The school was originally founded in 1937 as the
Sangmyung High School of Art and Design,
which was established with the goal of raising ethnic
leaders in the Japanese colonial period.

Following the liberation, it developed into Sangmyung Women's Normal University (1965) and Sangmyung Women's University (1986). In 1996, Sangmyung University was reborn as a coeducational school in order to to actively cope with the changing times and to expand educational opportunities. It is the 18th year as a coeducational university this year, and it has been evaluated as a successful change from members of the school community, alumni, and students on campus.

After the transition to a coed school, students’ ardor for study has risen, as can be seen in the increase of the library utilization rate. Among other things, the employment rate has increased, and alumni activities centering around male alumni have become more active as well.

In addition, having been selected as as "the best university" and "the best graduate school" in the comprehensive evaluation of the 2nd cycle university administered by the Ministry of Education and Human Resources Development, the prestige of our university is rising in the world.

  • March

    Contracted for the Employment Opportunity Center project (600,000,000 KRW)

  • April 01

    Campus name reestablished: Cheonan Campus → Campus 2 (Cheonan)

  • April 19

    Seoul Campus admission quota for 2018 (2019. 3. 1)
    <5 colleges, 31 admission units [5 undergraduate courses, 26 departments], admission quota 1,302>

    Cheonan Campus admission quota for 2018 (2019. 3. 1)
    <5 colleges, 25 admission units [3 undergraduate courses, 19 departments, 3 majors], entrance quota 1,305>

  • July 01

    Reorganization of administration for more efficient operation of campus system

  • October 29

    Admission quota for graduate schools for 2019 (2019. 3. 1)

    General Graduate School - Post-graduate : 45 departments, admission quota 111 / Graduate : 45 departments, admission quota 202

    Graduate School of Education - Graduate : 1 department, 13 majors, admission quota 60

    Graduate School of Social Welfare Consultation - Graduate : 3 departments, admission quota 45

    Graduate School of Business Administration - Graduate : 3 departments, admission quota 40

    Graduate School of Culture Technology - Graduate : 4 departments, admission quota 90

  • December 05

    Minister's Award for 2018 Youths Dream Best Practice in the field of career path guidance won (Ministry of Employment and Labor, Dong-a Ilbo)